World Cup 2022 Draw: Discover What Groups The 32 Nations Will Be Playing In

After what feels like a very, very long build-up, the draw for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar is finally upon us.

In what is the first ever winter World Cup, the group stages kick off on Monday 21 November, with the curtain to come down on the competition when the final takes place on Sunday 18 December.

Gareth Southgate guided England through qualifying to the tournament proper with minimum fuss and will be hoping to go two steps further after the Three Lions suffered defeat in the semi-finals of the 2018 edition in Russia.

They are joined in the hat by the likes of Germany, Brazil, and current holders France, although European champions Italy miss out after their catastrophic play-off semi-final defeat to North Macedonia.

Euro 2016 winners Portugal did manage to overcome the Macedonians in the final, so Cristiano Ronaldo et al will take their place among the balls.

Here is the World Cup group stage draw in full…

World Cup 2022 group stage draw

Group A

  • Qatar (hosts)
  • Ecuador
  • Senegal
  • Netherlands

Group B

  • England
  • Iran
  • USA
  • Wales/Scotland/Ukraine

Group C

  • Argentina
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Mexico
  • Poland

Group D

  • France
  • Australia/UAE/Peru
  • Denmark
  • Tunisia

Group E

  • Spain
  • New Zealand/Costa Rica
  • Germany
  • Japan

Group F

  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Morocco
  • Croatia

Group G

  • Brazil
  • Serbia
  • Switzerland
  • Cameroon

Group H

  • Portugal
  • Ghana
  • Uruguay
  • South Korea

Leave a Reply

Back to top button