World Cup 2022 draw LIVE: England set to discover Qatar opponents

After what feels like a very, very long build-up, the draw for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar is finally upon us.

In what is the first ever winter World Cup, the group stages kick off on Monday 21 November, with the curtain to come down on the competition when the final takes place on Sunday 18 December.

Gareth Southgate guided England through qualifying to the tournament proper with minimum fuss and will be hoping to go two steps further after the Three Lions suffered defeat in the semi-finals of the 2018 edition in Russia.

They are joined in the hat by the likes of Germany, Brazil and current holders France, although European champions Italy miss out after their catastrophic playoff semi-final defeat to North Macedonia.

Euro 2016 winners Portugal did manage to overcome the Macedonians in the final, so Cristiano Ronaldo et al will take their place among the balls.

Follow all the action in 90min’s live updates below…

World Cup 2022 draw – LIVE

The World Cup draw is being held at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Center in Qatar and the first ball is expected to be drawn just before 7.30pm local time (5.30pm UK & 12:30 ET)

2022 World Cup draw pots

Pot 1

  • Qatar
  • Belgium
  • France
  • Brazil
  • Argentina
  • England
  • Spain
  • Portugal

Pot 2

  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • Switzerland
  • Croatia
  • Uruguay
  • Mexico
  • USA

Pot 3

  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Serbia
  • Poland
  • South Korea
  • Senegal
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia

Pot 4

  • Cameroon
  • Ecuador
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Ghana
  • Canada
  • Wales/Scotland/Ukraine
  • Australia/UAE/Peru
  • New Zealand/Costa Rica

A maximum of two European teams can be drawn per group, while there can be no more than one team per other confederation.

Who can still qualify for the World Cup?

The 12 UEFA teams will be joined by three more nations – either Wales, Ukraine or Scotland, who are yet to contest their play-off clash.

  • Wales vs Scotland/Ukraine 

The AFC play-off winner between Australia and UAE will then meet CONMEBOL’s Peru in an intercontinental clash.

New Zealand, meanwhile, will have to beat CONCACAF’s Costa Rica as OFC do not get an automatic qualification spot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button